2011 Ray Krone Award

In honor of one of the founders of modern cohesive sediment science and engineering, the Ray Krone award for the best paper by a young scientist (< 35 years) has been established. The selection is made by members of the Steering Committee on the basis of scientific content, originality and presentation skills. The prize can be won by first authors only (i.e. the presenter).

2011 Mehta Award

The Mehta Award is a given to an individual who has made significant contributions to the advancement in the theory or application of cohesive sediment transport in the marine or aquatic environment. The award, which carries a plaque and a prize of $3,000, is normally given when INTERCOH is convened. Awardees are globally selected and are not limited in any way to the specific themes or participants at the conference. The award is named in the memory of Jayant J. Mehta (1916-1996) by his son Ashish J. Mehta. The award is given only if a suitable candidate is chosen. In that event the Award Committee will indicate the basis for its choice in its letter to the awardee. Deliberations by the committee leading to the selection will remain internal to the committee whose decision will be final. The awardee will be invited to the conference to present a keynote lecture on the award topic. The Award Committee is affiliated to the Steering Committee of the International Conference on Cohesive Sediment Transport Processes (INTERCOH). It includes three members approved by the Steering Committee. The tenure of each member is 6 years. The present members are Dr. William H. McAnally, Dr. Lawrence P. Sanford and Dr. Johan C. Winterwerp (Chair). The deadline for nominations is about four months prior to the conference, which is biennial. Specific deadline date is given in the announcement of the next conference. Nominations are welcome from anyone associated with cohesive sediment transport research or application. The package should include a letter of transmittal from the nominator indicating the basis for the choice of the nominee, nominee bio-data and two letters of support from individuals other than the nominator. The entire package must be transmitted by e-mail to Professor J.C. Winterwerp, INTERCOH Steering Committee Chair, at:

Conference Calendar
  • Call for full-paper

Copyright©2010-2011 SKLEC. All Rights Reserved. Last updated on November 16, 2011